La nuit Polaire – Trophées Victor – Responsability

It has been a year since I have’nt reach to you, I sometimes feel like being a mercury drops in the barometer of the world.
 
However, I walked on a silent path and on words too. Today, I am sharing with you  a project that will lead me to others, we will discuss about together an other time.
 
Last January I have been invited to create the Victor Trophies imagined by Ashok Adiceam for the Fonds Paul Emile Victor and the Polar season which began with the government conference on Antarctica. I have imagined Ginkgo fossils caught in glass as they would be in ice.

 

The North Pole-Arctica and the South Pole -Antarctica. The boundaries of our world between which we stand. Extremes, climates, energies, configuartions. The first one in the north, is overexploited , object of covetousness, land of frozen waters, landless land, immaterial and monopolized. The other in the south, virgin of everything, of plant, humankind, frozen but concrete, a sacred continent, conquest free, offered only to marine animals and nomadic humans working for common knowledge.
 
It is Antarctica specifically that caught my imagination. And among all the leads that I have explored, some of which will surely be the subject of further development, it is that of fragility and responsibility on which I have focused. The secrets revealed by coring of the ice cap bring knowledge and destruction. The ice by melting, releases what had been locked in it for millennia and loses it.
 
The fossils, each is unique, bear the imprint of Ginkgo leaves that were present in Antarctica before continental drift. The red threads running through them are the potential for life. The living glass comes by combustion to immortalize them, as ice would do by freezing, before man dislodges them
 
The fossil trophies are surrounded by a brass frame bearing the name of the prize. The glass block and the frame can be separated. The fossil would be returned to its art piece nature. The frame, as memory of the reward, left empty, is a metaphor for the disappearance, will remind responsibility that any exploit carries.
 
The Victor will be presented next Saturday to the Natural History Museum. They will reward journalists, documentarists, artists, explorers, writers and young talents committed to advancing the discovery, knowledge and understanding of the Poles around seven categories during the Polar night which closes a Summer under the sign of the Poles.
 
Nuit Polaire
Saturday October  9th 2021 – from 18:00, Trophies ceremony 20:30
Museum National d’Histoire Naturelle | 57 rue Cuvier, 75005 Paris, France
Free entry upon registration (here)
Follow the event live (here)

 


Nuit Polaire Affiche

Trophée en fusion

Le trophée sans son cadre

La nuit Polaire – Trophées Victor – De la responsabilité

Voilà plus d’un an que je ne vous ai pas écrit, j’ai parfois l’impression d’être une des gouttes de mercure du baromètre du monde.
 
J’ai cheminé sur le silence et sur les mots. Je partage avec vous aujourd’hui un projet qui me mènera vers d’autres dont nous parlerons ensemble une autre fois.
 
J’ai été invitée en janvier à créer les Trophées Victor imaginés par Ashok Adiceam pour le Fonds de dotation Paul Émile Victor et la saison Polaire qui avait commencée par la conférence gouvernementale sur l’Antarctique. J’ai imaginé des fossiles de Ginkgo, arbre préhistorique, pris dans du verre comme ils le seraient dans la glace.
 

Le pôle nord, l’Arctique et le pôle sud, l’Antarctique. Les bornes de notre monde entre lesquels nous nous tenons. Des extrêmes, climats, énergies, configurations. L’un au nord surexploité, objet de convoitises, terres d’eaux gelées, terre sans terre, immatérielles et accaparées. L’autre au sud vierge de tout, d’hommes, de plantes, gelé mais concret, continent sacralisé, sans conquête, offert aux seuls animaux marins et à des humains nomades œuvrant pour le savoir commun.
 
C’est l’Antarctique qui a mobilisé mon imagination. Et parmi toutes les pistes que j’ai explorées, dont certaines feront l’objet de développements ultérieurs, c’est celle de la fragilité et de la responsabilité sur laquelle je me suis arrêtée. La mise à jour des secrets de la calotte glacière, par carottage, est porteuse de savoir et de destruction. La glace en fondant libère et perd ce qui y était enfermé depuis des millénaires.
 
Les fossiles, chaque trophée est unique, portent l’empreinte de feuilles de Ginkgo présents en Antarctique avant la dérive des continents. Les fils rouges qui les traversent sont le potentiel de vie. Le verre matériau vivant vient par combustion les immortaliser, comme la glace le ferait par congélation, avant que l’homme ne les en délogent.
 
Les trophées-fossiles sont pris dans un cadre en laiton où est gravé le nom du prix. Le pavé de verre et le cadre peuvent être désolidarisés, le fossile  rendu à sa nature d’œuvre. Le cadre, souvenir de la récompense, vide, métaphore de la disparition, rappellera que tout exploit est porteur de responsabilité
 
Les Victor, seront remis samedi prochain au Muséum d’Histoire Naturel. Ils récompenseront des journalistes, documentaristes, artistes, explorateurs, écrivains et des jeunes talents engagés pour faire avancer la découverte, la connaissance et la compréhension des Pôles autour de sept catégories au cours de la nuit Polaire qui clôture un Eté sous le signe des Pôles.
 
Nuit Polaire
Saturday October  9th 2021 – from 18:00, Trophies ceremony 20:30
Museum National d’Histoire Naturelle | 57 rue Cuvier, 75005 Paris, France
Free entry upon registration (here)
Follow the event live (here)

Nuit Polaire Affiche

Trophée en fusion

Le trophée sans son cadre