Matza | 2 | Return from exile to common land

Matza is named after the Mazze, a XVth century tradition, democracy participatory forbear.  In the Haut-Valais in Switzerland, protesters unearthed a tree, put it upside down and went from village to village to set out their disagreement. Those who who were convinced hammered a nail in the trunk. As Severin Guelpa, Matza founder, says it revealed the determination of a community to defend it self and to take charge of its own destiny.

Matza is also the bread, commemorating the Hebrews exodus from Egypt, flatbread as the one they had to take in the fled emergency.  A crumbly and nostalgic bread, saying the freedom price et the destiny strength.
 
Severin has created in 2014 the Matza residency. Initiative  aiming to rethink the links between territories and democracy, he oriented his reflection on water, inviting other artists, architects and scientists to transcend extreme places as the Californian desert or Swiss glacier. This new chapter takes us on a third continent to reflect the Mediterranean sea, ancestral traditions  and human stakes.
 
The Kerkennah Islands has been especially selected because of its sea minded population. The island is renowned for the Charfia, ancestral and virtuous fishing technic, that allows an original and sustainable resources management. But also because the Island is totally preserved and at the same time was the social movements scene, it gathers the Tunisian  tradition and contemporary elements.
 
As for me, Tunisia is a place of symbolic memory. My children ancestors’ land , that I took as an attic to project the living souvenirs of sharing moments and the fantasy of the absolutely lost pass of my own ancestors in a freezing eastern Europe.
 
Tunisia is also where  the very first branches of the very first genealogical tree I created come from, the tree of a Man that finally takes me back here.
 
Right before the Jewish passover, which will match with the end the residence and the opening of the Bardo museum exhibition, I complete a cycle of inner navigation, a return from exile to a common land.

Matza Kerkennah|2017

Matza | 2 | Retour d’exil en terres communes

Matza prend son nom de la Mazze,  tradition de la fin du XVème siècle, ancêtre de la démocratie participative. Dans le Haut Valais en Suisse, les contestataires déterraient un arbre le mettaient à l’envers et allaient de village en village exposer leur contestation. Ceux qui étaient d’accord venaient planter un clou dans le tronc. Elle était révélatrice de la détermination d’une communauté à se défendre et prendre en main son destin.
Matza, c’est aussi le pain des juifs commémorant la sortie d’Égypte, pain non levé comme celui qu’ils avaient du prendre dans l’urgence de leur fuite. Un pain friable et nostalgique, qui dit le prix de la liberté et la force du destin.

Severin Guelpa a créé en 2014 la résidence Matza.  Initiative visant à repenser les liens entre territoire et démocratie, orientant sa réflexion sur l’eau et  en invitant d’autres artistes, architectes et scientifiques à transcender des lieux extrêmes comme le désert californien, et les glaciers suisses. Le nouveau volet  engage, sur un troisième continent, à réfléchir la mer méditerranéenne, les traditions ancestrales et les enjeux humains. 
Severin a choisit en particulier les îles Kerkennah parce que tournées vers la mer et ses ressources, les résidents  sont connus pour leur technique de pêche ancestrale, la Charfia, qui permet une gestion originale et durable des ressources de la mer. Parce que l’île est totalement préservée et qu’elle a été le théâtre récemment de mouvements sociaux important, rassemblant tradition et contemporanéité de la Tunisie emblématique. 
Pour moi la Tunisie est un lieu  de mémoire symbolique. Elle est une terre des ancêtres de mes enfants que je me suis appropriée pour en faire le grenier où je projette les souvenirs vivants, les moments de partage et mes fantasmes d’un passé absolument perdu dans les terres glacées de l’orient européen de mes propres ancêtres.
C’est d’ici aussi que viennent les premières branches du premier arbre généalogique, l’arbre de l’Homme, qui finalement me ramène en ces lieux.
Ainsi à la veille de la pâques juive qui coïncidera avec la fin de la résidence et l’exposition du musée du Bardo  je complète un cycle  de navigations intérieures retour d’exil en terres communes.

Matza Kerkennah|2017