Matza | 1 | Abandoning the known, Abandoning to the unknown

have regularly talk to you about the unknown, the last weeks made me think about it in various ways.

Call In and Call out, building on the inside and the outside gave me the opportunity to work on two new project. The first one is organized by Severin Guelpa swiss artist who invited me to join a crew of artists, architects and sociologists to work on his ethical, human, ecologist and artistic project : Matza. During two weeks we will talk, elaborate, create in the Tunisian Kerkennah Island with the fishermans on the theme of water. The result will be exhibited in the National Bardo Museum in Tunis.
The second project is, at the invitation of the Meyrin Fond d’art contemporain, and thanks to Joseph Farine, an exhibition in the Jardin Alpin, about “Nests, burrows and other shelters”.

Panic came from the second project. When the overwhelming finally vanished, when I tamed my fear, trying my best to walk a step at a time, and when finally it passed for good for lack of reason, I wondered why a leap into the Tunisian unknown, knowing very little about the subject, nothing about the artists, architects and sociologists I will share this adventure with, filled me with joy. While completing an art piece detailed file 3 months prior  its installation paralyzed me .

As you know, I have regularly been traveling into the foreign, giving up to what is beyond me. I  accept that my hands know , that they create what they have to, they sculpt, they write, they embroider, they gather, they invent, they make sens from what comes to them. Anticipating chance or, even worth, preventing it to happen in time because of to much rationality was taking me beyond myself, beyond my belief in the moment. I knew no more. I didn’t need to know, but couldn’t understand it.

Letting the unknown alive, and allow the possible to come out of it, is accepting that this unknown will show up long before any realization.

My proposal has been delivered to the Meyrin committee, here I am about to fly to Tunisia, I take you with me. Together, we will see whether, in time, our steps toward this unknown will regather with all our other movements, if they already are the signs. This unknown will it be contained in truths we already know, the already started apprenticeships ?

I love you, let the chance nourishes us until we encounter.

 

You will find here the invitations to the open house April 1st in Kerkennah  and to the Bardo National Museu openning April 14th

Nids, terriers et autres refuges|Jardin Botanique Alpin, Meyrin|projet|2017

Matza | 1 | Abandon du connu, abandon à l’inconnu

Je vous parle souvent de l’inconnu, et mes dernières semaines m’ont amenée à y réfléchir autrement.

Riche de l’exploration du dedans et du dehors de Call In et Call out, deux nouvelles actualités s´offrent à moi. 

La première est organisée par Severin Guelpa, artiste Suisse. Il m’invite dans son projet éthique, humain, écologique et artistique autour de l’eau : Matza. pour deux semaines d’exploration dans les îles Kerkennah en Tunisie. Le résultat sera exposé au musée National du Bardo de Tunis. 

La seconde est l’invitation, par le Fond d’art contemporain de la ville de Meyrin, à investir le jardin Botanique Alpin, avec 4 autres artistes pendant tout l’été autour du thème des Nids, Terriers et autres refuges.

La panique est venue avec le second projet. Quand elle a fini pas passer, quand j’ai apprivoisé ma peur, m’efforçant de poser un pied après l’autre, quand finalement elle est partie faute d’objet, je me suis demandée pourquoi, le saut dans l’inconnu d’un sujet que j’ai peu abordé avec des artistes, architectes, sociologues jamais rencontrés, en Tunisie m’emplissait de gourmandise, tandis que de rendre un dossier détaillé sur une œuvre, 3 mois avant sa réalisation, me paralysait ?

Vous le savez, j’ai  régulièrement eu la chance de partir dans l’étranger, et de m’abandonner à ce qui est au delà de moi. J’accepte que mes mains sachent et créent ce qu’elles doivent. Elles sculptent, elles écrivent, elles brodent, elles assemblent, elles inventent, elles font sens de ce qui se présente à elles. Anticiper le hasard, ou pire l’empêcher d’advenir en temps utile de création par trop de rationnel m’emmenait finalement au delà de moi, de ma croyance en l’instant. Je ne savais plus, je n’avais pas besoin de savoir mais ne le pouvait comprendre.

Laisser vivre l’inconnu pour que le possible advienne, c’est accepter que cet inconnu se présente longtemps avant toute réalisation.

Mon dossier est parti pour Meyrin, je vais bientôt m’envoler vers la Tunisie où  je vous emmène. Nous verrons bien ensemble si nos pas vers l’inconnu se re-concentrent dans le temps avec tous nos autres mouvements, s’ils sont des annonces. Cet inconnu  se circonscrira-t-il  dans des vérités déjà vécues, des apprentissages déjà commencés ?

Je vous aime, laissons le hasard nous nourrir, jusqu’à ce que nous nous rencontrions.

 

Vous trouverez d’ors et déja les invitations aux portes ouvertes  le 1er avril à Kerkennah et le 14 avril au vernissage au Musée du Bardo.

Nids, terriers et autres refuges|Jardin Botanique Alpin, Meyrin|projet|2017